Dear Surgeon General

12.6.16

DEAR SURGEON GENERAL,

I would like permission operate on President-Elect Trump’s brain.  Immediately.

You are correct in noting that I am not a neurosurgeon.  I’m not even a medical doctor.  I do have a doctorate degree…but it’s in law.  That’s right, I’m a lawyer and I’m prepped and ready for surgery!

Before you dismiss me for lack of experience, let me make my case.  Though I previously believed myself to be unqualified to lead a team of brain surgeons in cutting into the POTUS-elect’s head, I have recently changed my mind.  You see, like Mr. Trump (allegedly), I too have a brain.  I’ve used it all my life.  I was born with a brain and having a brain has informed nearly every decision I’ve made since the ‘90s.

Thus, clearly, I can take a scalpel (brain surgeons use scalpels, right? … or is it a drill?), lift the uniquely-coiffed cranium off the Donald and see what, if anything, is in there.   What I find may be scrambled, it may be fried, but there is very clearly something wrong.  No matter … in order to, “Make America Great Again,” it must be fixed.

While I’m at it, I would like to be appointed the head of the American Board of Neurological Surgeons.  I’m 100% positive that the fine physicians who worked their whole lives to become neurosurgeons will have NO problem with a lawyer heading their fine institution.  Like I said, I have a brain and on most days, I use it.  Having a brain has been very important to my life.

Fear not my lack of leadership experience.  I have never led so much as a girl scout troop.  That said, I believe I’m qualified to someday be POTUS myself.  That brand of bravado is exactly what the American Board of Neurological Surgeons need.  Besides, I have already tapped a thoracic surgeon and a factory worker to be my principal advisors so everything will be ok.  Trust me.  I’m a Christian (crossed my fingers on that one! Sssshhhh…).

Finally, I should note that my platform as head of ABNS will be to only allow brain surgeries on white Americans with median incomes over $800,000 per year.  Sure, that will leave everyone else in peril BUT, with the sort of prices I can charge this populace for a little brain tickle, I will be able to tear down all the shoddy hospitals and surgery centers in the United States and build new, shiny, properly-gilded palaces fitting for those who can afford me.  What’s that Surgeon General Vivek Murthy?  You’re not white?  That’s unfortunate.  In fact, you look a little Muslim-y!  Have you registered?  What the hell am I asking your permission for anyway?  I don’t need you!  I’m going straight to the Donald and asking for your job!

Sincerely,

Me

P.S.  Thanks for the warning on cigarettes.

 

Copyright 2016, Jennifer S. Anderson, All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

